top of page

Yell Louder

One time as we were standing on a subway platform,

She was standing there with all the acceleration and excitement of the E train itself

And I felt like I had just been hit by an entire New York City subway alphabet.

I told her,

“Can you stop... being so jumpy?

Why are you smiling so much?

It just makes me feel so uncomfortable when I’m so down and you’re so up.”


I don’t know if I ever really told her I was sorry

But I do know that one day

When my kids are yelling their crazy heads off

About some crazy little thing crazy little kids yell about,

Tears in eyes as their joy is just so much that it can’t live in their body anymore,

When they are standing there with all the acceleration and excitement of the E train itself,

What I do know

Is that I will tell them to yell louder. 


bottom of page